Mersin University was established with the Law No. 3837 adopted by the Turkish Grand National Assembly on 3 July 1992 and started its activities on 10 November 1992.

In the academic year of 1993-1994, Mersin University started its education by admitting students to the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Faculty of Fine Arts, Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences, Faculty of Engineering, School of Tourism and Hotel Management , Mersin Vocational School, Gülnar Vocational School, Mut Vocational School, Tarsus Vocational School and Institute of Science and Social Sciences which will carry out postgraduate programs.

Since its establishment; Mersin University has increased the number of its faculties to 16, the number of its colleges to 7, the number of its vocational schools to 11, the number of its institutes to 5, and the number of its research centers to 34.

"A World University In The Light of Science and Modernity"